

21 February 2008

Grant winners

14 February 2008

European Research Council.

Forty-one UK researchers have won European Research Council "starting independent research grants". Below we publish details of 23 winners; we will print the remainder next week. The grants provide between EUR500,000 (£357,000) and EUR2 million over five years for the researchers to study at an institution of their choice. The highest number of grants went to German researchers, followed by Italian, French and British researchers. The ERC expects about 300 proposals across the European Union to be funded overall. List is in alphabetic order by institution.

Award winner: Ingrid van Biezen Institution: University of Birmingham Category: Institutions, behaviour, values and beliefs

Award winner: Nicole Boivin Institution: University of Cambridge Category: The study of the past and of cultural artefacts

Award winner: Mihalis Dafermos Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Mathematical foundations

Award winner: Arwen Deuss Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Earth system science

Award winner: Andrea Ferrari Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Engineering sciences

Award winner: Florian Hollfelder Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Material and chemical sciences

Award winner: Gregory Jefferis Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Neurosciences

Award winner: Ivan Smith Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Mathematical foundations

Award winner: Vincenzo Costanzo Institution: Cancer Research UK Category: Molecular, cellular and developmental biology

Award winner: Adrian Martin Institution: University of East Anglia Category: Individuals and organisations

Award winner: James Brockmole Institution: University of Edinburgh Category: The human mind and its complexity

Award winner: Frank Keller Institution: University of Edinburgh Category: The human mind and its complexity

Award winner: Maja Pantic Institution: Imperial College London Category: Information and communication

Award winner: Molly Stevens Institution: Imperial College London Category: Engineering sciences

Award winner: Andrew Davison Institution: Imperial College London Category: Information and communication

Award winner: Sebastian Uchitel Institution: Imperial College London Category: Information and communication

Award winner: Giles Oldroyd Institution: John Innes Centre Category: Applied life sciences, biotechnology and bioengineering

Award winner: Christoph Meyer Institution: King's College London Category: Institutions, behaviour, values and beliefs (Social Sciences and Humanities)

Award winner: Helene Rey Institution: London Business School Category: Individuals and organisations

Award winner: Gilat Levy Institution: London School of Economics Category: Individuals and organisations

Award winner: Konstantin Novoselov Institution: University of Manchester Category: Condensed matter in physics and chemistry

Award winner: Jason Chin Institution: Medical Research Council Category: Applied life sciences, biotechnology and bioengineering

Award winner: Alan Lauder Institution: University of Oxford Category: Mathematical foundations.

European Research Council – UK reserve list

Forty-one UK researchers have won European Research Council "starting independent research grants". Below is the reserve list of 36 UK young researchers by rank order. In view of the high demand for the research grants, additional funding is being made available, which should allow a substantial number of proposals from this list to be funded. These proposals will be funded in rank order until the available budget (still to be determined by the European Research Council) is exhausted.

Alcaide Aragon Institution: Medical Research Council Category: Molecular, cellular and developmental biology

Guillaume Thierry Institution: Bangor University Category: The human mind and its complexity

Neil Hunt Institution: University of Strathclyde Category: Material and chemical sciences

Jernej Ule Institution: Medical Research Council Category: Molecular, cellular and developmental biology:

Alice Jenkins

Institution: University of Glasgow Category: Cultures and cultural diversity

Lourdes Agapito Institution: Queen Mary Category: Information and communication

Michaelides Angelos Institution: University College London Category: Material and chemical sciences

Guillaume Masse Institution: University of Plymouth Category: Earth system science

Caroline Dessent Institution: University of York Category: Material and chemical science

David Turk Institution: The University of Aberdeen Category: The human mind and its complexity

Denis Burdakov Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Neurosciences

Name withheld Institution: University of Newcastle upon Tyne Category: Molecular, cellular and developmental biology

Kazuya Koyama Institution: University of Portsmouth Category: Universe science

Duncan Odom Institution: Cancer Research UK Category: Genetics, genomics, bioinformatics and systems biology

Name withheld Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Condensed matter in physics and chemistry

Jasper van Thor Institution: Imperial College Category: Material and chemical sciences

Name withheld Institution: Medical Research Council Category: Neurosciences

Philip Wigge Institution: John Innes Centre Category: Applied life sciences, biotechnology and bioengineering

Name withheld Institution: University of East Anglia Category: Institutions, behaviour, values and beliefs

Miranda Lubbers Institution: University of Oxford Category: Institutions, behaviour, values and beliefs

Mary Palmer Institution: University of Keele Category: Neurosciences

Juan Burrone Institution: King's College London Category: Neurosciences

Zoran Hadzibabic

Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Fundamental constituents of matter

Amin Hajitou Institution: Imperial College London Category: Medical and health science research

Petros Ligoxygakis Institution: University of Oxford Category: Organismic physiology, including infection and immunity

Name withheld Institution: University of Oxford Category: Evolutionary, population and environmental biology

David Selby Institution: University Durham Category: Earth system science

Bernd Kulessa Institution: Swansea University Category: Earth system science

Giacomo Macola Institution: University of Sheffield Category: The study of the past and of cultural artefacts

Simone Turchetti Institution: University of Manchester Category: Institutions, behaviour, values and beliefs

Name withheld Institution: University of Aberdeen Category: Medical and health science research

Peter Keevash Institution: University of Oxford Category: Mathematical foundations

Name withheld Institution: Imperial College Category: Engineering sciences

Esther Rodriguez-Villegas Institution: Imperial College Category: Engineering sciences

Name withheld Institution: University of Cambridge Category: Engineering sciences

Angelique Corthals Institution: University of Manchester Category: The study of the past and of cultural artefacts